Attica Raceway Park Closes Out 2008 With The O'Reilly All Star Sprint Series
Thursday, 28 August 2008

Image(Attica, OH) The O'Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions make their final appearance at Attica Raceway Park with the running of the Attica Ambush presented by Baumann Auto Group/ Aaron's Sales & Lease/ Ohio CAT to close out the track's 20th Anniversary season.

The All Stars have nearly made a home at Attica since the gates reopened in 1988 and have held over 80 events. Frankie Kerr and Dale Blaney are tied with the most career wins at the Northern Ohio 1/3-mile speed plant with eight victories a piece with defending series champion Greg Wilson with 7 feature wins in tow. Local legend and 12-time track champion Mark Keegan leads the Attica regulars with 4 wins over the All Stars with 2008 track champion Byron Reed having two wins to his credit.

This season however Lance Dewease has been the only driver to visit victory lane at Attica under the All Star banner and the Pennsylvania driver finds himself in a fierce points championship battle with Ohio's Dale Blaney with only a handful of races remaining. The 25th Anniversary of Ohio Sprint Speedweek got off to a soggy start at Attica back in June with the opening event being canceled because of Mother Nature.

ImageThe anticipation builds for the Attica Ambush with the recent announcement of Tyler Walker making a return to O'Reilly All Star competition aboard a Kasey Kahne Racing supplied machine. Tyler Walker has 7 wins on his racing resume with the All Stars, but has yet to find victory lane at 'Ohio's Finest Racing' venue.

Bring your family, call your friends because this event is one you will not want to miss. Dewease, Blaney, Hannagan, Martin, Walker and many more All Stars against the fierce weekly competitors at Attica like Reed, Harrison, Linder & Weaver just to name a few going for the $5,000 prize after a 40-lap feature. The Service Drive Solutions UMP Attica Late Models and dirt trucks will also be in action with no points on the line and only going for the win as Curtis Deisenroth (ARP Lates) & Cory Ward (dirt trucks) were crown track champions last weekend.

Adult general admissions is $20, seniors $18, ages 11-15 $15 and ages 10 & under are free. Pit passes are priced at $30. Gates will open a half hour early this Saturday night at 4 p.m. with racing slated to start at 7:30 p.m.

Last Updated ( Friday, 29 August 2008 )