Points Battles Heat Up at Attica Raceway Park PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 01 June 2009

ImageBy Brian Liskai

(Attica, OH) The chase to the championships at Attica Raceway Park and the Kistler Racing Products Fremont/ Attica Sprint Title (F.A.S.T.) will heat up in June.

Not only will Attica Raceway Park and Fremont Speedway reward their 410 sprint champions, but a separate point fund - over $50,000 worth of money and contingency awards - will be given out for the Kistler Racing Products F.A.S.T. Championship Series.

Friday, June 5 will be Burns Electric Mid-Season Championship Night at Attica with double points on the line for the 410 sprints, Fremont Fence 305 Sprints and dirt trucks. It is also a F.A.S.T. point night for the 410 sprints. Past winners of the Mid-Season Championship feature at Attica include Jack Hewitt, Mark Keegan (3-times), Chuck Wilson, Rocky Hodges, Chad Kemenah, Jim Nier, Danny Goeden and Lee Jacobs.

Greg Wilson currently sits atop the Attica Raceway Park point standings for the 410 sprints, but Tim Shaffer is only 23 points back and Brandon Martin sits just 30 points out. Chris Andrews is fourth in the standings while defending champion Byron Reed rounds out the top five. With double points on the line the points standings are sure to see a major shake-up.

In the Fremont Fence 305 Sprint title chase, defending track champion Stuart Brubaker has a 27-point advantage over Paul Weaver while Steve Rando, Dustin Dinan and Nate Dussel round out the top five.

In the Fultz  Fabrications and Speed Shop UMP Dirt Late Model point standings, Ryan Missler holds a 22-point lead over Dusty Moore, while Wayne Maffett Jr., Ryan Markham and Ken Hahn round out the top five.

In the dirt trucks, Art Ball holds an 18-point lead over defending champion Cory Ward, while Alex Weichman is just 20 points back and Dan Hennig a mere 25-points behind. Dwight Waltermeier and Paul Brown Jr. are tied for fifth.

ImageIt will be another FAST event on American Powersports of Findlay and Fisher Performance Night, Friday, June 12. Besides the 410 sprints and Fremont Fence 305 Sprints, the Fultz Fabrications and Speed Shop UMP Dirt Late Models will be competing for double points.

The month of racing wraps up on Friday, June 19, as Attica Raceway Park will kick off the Ohio Sprint Speedweek on Aaron's Sales and Lease Night with the O'Reilly All Star Circuit of Champion Sprints along with the UMP late models. Speedweek has the traveling sprint car teams heading to eight different tracks in nine days. Past Speedweek winners at ARP include Sammy Swindell (2); Terry Shephard, Gary Wright, Frankie Kerr (2), Mark Keegan, Joey Saldana, Dean Jacobs, Kenny Jacobs, Jeff Shepard, Byron Reed, Greg Wilson (2), Chad Kemenah, Dale Blaney (2) and Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
Last Updated ( Tuesday, 02 June 2009 )
< Prev   Next >