World of Outlaws Late Model Series ‘National Interstate Speedweek’ Rolls Through Ohio & Indiana PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 18 July 2007

By Kevin Kovac, World of Outlaws Late Model Series P.R. Director

Image(Concord, NC) There will be plenty on the line when the inaugural World of Outlaws Late Model Series ‘National Interstate Speedweek’ rolls through Ohio and Indiana from July 25-28.
For the WoO LMS travelers, the four races in consecutive nights will be their last extended swing of the summer and thus prove critical in the battle for the $100,000 tour points title.
For drivers and teams hailing from Ohio, thousands of dollars in bonus cash will be on the line from the Richfield, Ohio-based National Interstate Insurance Company.
For the top-10 drivers in the final National Interstate Speedweek points standings, a cool $6,000 points fund will be divided among them.
And for the fans, National Interstate Insurance is offering a chance to win free tickets to see  star-studded fields of dirt Late Models do battle on four of the country’s top racetracks.
Image“The first National Interstate Speedweek is shaping up to be one of the best stretches of racing on this year’s World of Outlaws Late Model Series,” said WoO LMS director Tim Christman. “With races at four super tracks and National Interstate Insurance providing a great incentive program for Ohio-based drivers and teams, we’re expecting some intense competition between the Outlaws and dozens of regional standouts.”
National Interstate Speedweek will kick off on Wed., July 25, at Attica (Ohio) Raceway Park, then continue on Thurs., July 26, at Lawrenceburg (Ind.) Speedway; Fri., July 27, at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio; and Sat., July 28, at Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio.
The WoO LMS will make a first-ever visit to all the tracks except Sharon, which has hosted the tour annually since 2004. An open tire rule will be in effect for the Attica and Sharon events, while Lawrenceburg and Eldora will use the UMP DIRTcar Racing Hoosier 20/40 tire rule.
ImageThe opener at Attica is one of the most highly anticipated shows of National Interstate Speedweek. A one-third-mile, semi-banked clay oval well known for spectacular action, Attica will present the biggest dirt Late Model event in its 20-year history.
A 40-lap, $7,000-to-win A-Main sponsored by World Auto Parts of Huron & Cleveland will headline the Wednesday-night program, which will include appearances by 2004 WoO LMS champion Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., and Eldora’s recent UMP DIRTcar Racing-sanctioned ‘Dream 100’ winner Steve Casebolt of Richmond, Ind.

ImageThe venerable quarter-mile, high-banked Lawrenceburg Speedway will hold its initial WoO LMS event on Thurs., July 26, just over three weeks after presenting a memorable UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals show for the dirt Late Models. The featured attraction will be a 40-lap A-Main paying $7,000 to win.
History will be made on Fri., July 27, as Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway hosts its biggest national touring dirt Late Model series event ever. The $10,000-to-win ‘Subway 50’ figures to draw a huge field of cars to the high-banked, half-mile oval, which has only one other dirt Late Model event on its schedule before the prestigious UMP DIRTcar Racing-sanctioned ‘World 100’ on Sept. 7-8.
Among the entries for Eldora’s historic WoO LMS show will be track owner Tony Stewart, who will zip over from NASCAR’s Brickyard 400 weekend at Indianapolis Motor Speedway to drive a Rocket Chassis dirt Late Model.
The swing concludes on Sat., July 28, at Dave Blaney’s Sharon Speedway with a 50-lap, $10,000-to-win A-Main that boasts National Interstate Insurance as a presenting sponsor. A three-eighths-mile, semi-banked clay oval, Sharon’s WoO LMS winners include Davey Johnson of Latrobe, Pa. (2004), 2006 tour champion Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y. (2005) and Rick Eckert of York, Pa. (2006).
A cool $1,500 bonus from a $6,000 points fund awaits the champion of National Interstate Speedweek. Second place in the final standings will pay $1,000, with third worth $800; fourth $600; fifth $500; sixth $400; seventh $350; eighth $325; ninth $275; and 10th $250.
Leading the contenders for the National Interstate Speedweek title will be WoO LMS stars Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., who sits atop the tour’s current points standings; Chub Frank of Bear Lake, Pa.; Clint Smith of Senoia, Ga.; Eckert; Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va; Shane Clanton of Locust Grove, Ga.; Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky.; Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill.; Tim Fuller of Watertown, N.Y.; and Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill.
ImageAmong the standouts expected to enter all the National Interstate Speedweek events and challenge for the championship are Bart Hartman of Zanesville, Ohio; Donnie Moran of Dresden, Ohio; Steve Shaver of Vienna, W.Va.; Aaron Scott of Newark, Ohio; Mike Balzano of Parkersburg, W.Va.; Jeep VanWormer of Pinconning, Mich.; Brady Smith of Solon Springs, Wis.; and Robbie Blair of Titusville, Pa.
An amazing array of regional talents are also expected to drop in for some Speedweek action, including UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals champ Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill.; Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa; Rick Aukland of Zanesville, Ohio; Scott James of Greendale, Ind.; Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, Wis.; Brian Ruhlman of Clark Lake, Mich.; and Doug Drown of Wooster, Ohio, who will also field a second car for Australian invader Craig Vosbergen.
All drivers who are not ranked among the top 12 in the current WoO LMS points standings and have never won a WoO LMS A-Main will be eligible to collect the WoO LMS ‘Bonus Bucks’ at each event. A $500 check goes to the highest-finishing driver in each feature who fits the criteria.
The Ohio-based drivers and teams that compete in the Speedweek activities, meanwhile, will chase bonus money posted by National Interstate Insurance. The three highest-finishing Ohio-based drivers or teams in each event will receive bonuses of $500, $300 and $200, respectively, for their efforts, and an additional $1,000 bonus will be presented to the Ohio-based driver or team that finishes highest in the Speedweek points standings.
National Interstate Insurance Company, a leading provider of transportation insurance products for specialty personal and commercial markets, will reach out to fans through the launch of its dedicated website,
Fans can log on to the website to enter a free contest to win tickets to each of the four National Interstate Speedweek events. Thirty tickets will be given away to the Attica, Lawrenceburg and Eldora races, and 20 free tickets are available for the Sharon program.
Other features of include a weblog, ‘Chub Across America,’ through which fans can read about the travels and racing exploits of WoO LMS star Chub Frank; profiles of Ohio dirt Late Models drivers; and information about the company’s insurance programs for Recreational Vehicles, watercraft and commercial vehicles for small business owners.
Attica Raceway Park: Call 419-426-8911 (raceday) or 419-680-5606 (office)

The SPEED television cameras will film Friday’s action at Eldora Speedway and Saturday’s competition at Sharon Speedway for late broadcast.
Eldora’s ‘Subway 50’ will be broadcast on SPEED on Sun., Aug. 19, from 1 p.m. to 2 p.m. ET, and Sharon’s ‘National Interstate Insurance 50’ will be broadcast on Sun., Aug. 26, from noon to 1 p.m. ET.

Last Updated ( Wednesday, 18 July 2007 )
< Prev   Next >
We have 3 guests online